The Phases of the Menstrual Cycle

| June 9, 2011 | 0 Comments

Menstrual cycle is basically based on three phases where two of them are considered the most distinct phases. The cycle normally occurs on the first day you have your period and ends on the day before you begin your next period.

The first phase of menstrual cycle is known as follicular phase or proliferative phase. This phase starts with the first day of menstrual cycle. The estrogen and progesterone levels are low during this phase of menstruation and also the uterine or endometrial lining drops as well. The thickening and growth of the uterine lining starts in a preparation for an embryo so that the pregnancy can occur. This phase usually remains until the ovulation phase begins, i.e. 10 to 14 days.

Ovulation is often considered as the second phase of the menstrual cycle, while it is often skipped and only two phases are considered, i.e. follicular phase and luteal phase. The luteal phase occurs right after the ovulation. In the ovulation phase, the ovaries release egg or eggs during the menstrual period. Ovulation process starts as a result of increased activity in the level of luteinizing hormone or LH. This phase lasts for 16 to 32 hours with a release of an egg.

After the ovulation, the luteal phase starts that lasts until the first day of your next period. During this phase of menstrual cycle, the estrogen and progesterone levels rise in the body. Both these hormones work together to form the endometrial or uterine lining in an order to prepare it for an embryo so that conception can occur. However, when you don’t conceive, the estrogen and progesterone levels drops as a result of which the uterine or endometrial lining drops again during the next menstrual period.

Tags: , ,

Category: Menstrual Cycle

Comments (0)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

There are no comments yet. Why not be the first to speak your mind.

Leave a Reply